John Chappell

Web Developer and JavaScript Enthusiast


Some of the projects I've been a part of.

About Me

Get to know me.

I am years old, currently living in Wylie, TX. I have a amazing wife who works really hard making iPhone Applications, and puts up with me. I enjoy Web development/design blogs, designing board games, and spending time with my family and cats.

I have always had a thing for video games and how they were made. I grew up on Super Mario Brothers and Zelda. I used to have notebooks of designed levels for the games I played. Later in my teenage years, I stumbled across a TRS-80 CoCo II for twelve dollars where I learned my first programming language, BASIC. Now I had the ability to create these beautiful games... kind of. It was mostly text-based and 4-bit graphics. At most, I could make the equivalent of Adventure for the Atari 2600.

I later took courses on computer programming and started a degree in Computer Science. I found that the Computer Science degree wasn't exactly what I was looking for though it was useful. I began understanding that the User Interface was the most enjoyable part of a project. I changed my major to an ATEC (Arts & Technology) major, focusing on User Interface Design. I enjoyed how ATEC was a more hands on experience where Computer Science tended to be more theory based. I now use that knowledge from both degree plans to design and develop web presences.

In tandem with CS/ATEC degree I also have had plenty experience in the field, designing and developing UIs for a variety of platforms for several companies. I have had experience building Web Applications in JSP and .Net. I developed on a labor tracking system for Java ME capable devices. I enjoyed developing the UI for each of these platforms. When there is a need, my experience also spans background operations such as web services, some database access, strategy, and on occasion project management. My recent ventures have thrown me into the world of AngularJS and web applications for media enterprises. I have also had the pleasure to build a Chromecast reciever application. The vast majority of my experience is in Web User Interfaces and Front End Development.

My cat Bounty doing the sophisticated "Looking to the Future" pose

My Résumé

The official document that tells you I'm what you need.
Pick your favorite format: